How many days Diwali holidays?

how many days diwali holidays?

Diwali Vacation

School and University students gets about 15 to 20 days holiday during Diwali, it is their midterm vacation. Now a day work places have started celebrating festivals hence working members do not get much holidays.

Diwali in India is commemorated for about five days.

Dhanteras / Dhantrayodashi is the day one of Diwali, an auspicious bath is taken with ubtan and a bitter fruit known as chirata which symbolizes a demon is crushed under the feet with the help of left toe. Small children wake up early morning and go outside to burst crackers after their auspicious bath. It is said that it is a good day to buy gold, silver and other expensive things.

Day two of Diwali is generally celebrated with friend and relatives wherein one exchanges sweets and faral (savory food).

Laksmi Pujan is the day three of Diwali. Goddess Lakshmi and Lord Ganesha are worshiped on this day.

Day four is Balipratipada. Bali was a king who also a demon yet during his time there was peace and prosperity but he was killed by lord Vishnu. People believe that he will return someday and they celebrate this day in his honor.

Bhai dooj is on day 5, it is a festival which celebrates the siblings bond.  

Connect With Us
Visa American Express Google Pay PayPal